Setting Sail

Image

Today is August 28, 2013. Exactly 365 days ago, I arrived in Atlanta, GA seeking a new direction for my life. This past year has been quite the experience for me. I could write volumes about what I’ve seen, done, and learned over the past 365 days. When I arrived in Georgia, I had a slight clue as to what I wanted and no real plan as to how to get it. I struggled to stay afloat for a few months, but I was never really able to regain control of my ship. Looking back in retrospect, I never had a ship… and I’m not that good of a swimmer.
This brings me to the purpose of this blog. Today is my last day in Atlanta (for the time being). I’m going home. I’m going home because I need to build my ship before setting sail again. For the first time in my recent history, I feel I have a path, a purpose, and a passion. These are things I’ve been desperately searching for since leaving Christian ministry, which I thought I’d be doing until I died, so I never planned for anything else.
I know I’ve made my share of mistakes and missteps. This move I’m embarking on isn’t one of them. I’ve learned SO much about myself, my strengths, my weaknesses, my hopes, and my desires since arriving here a year ago. I’ve learned that I am capable of doing what I never thought I could. I’ve learned that I can be brave, even in the face of heartbreak and adversity. I am excited to take the lessons I’ve learned and apply them to this next phase of my journey.
So, there you have it. That’s what’s going on with Dionne Shannette. I’m going home… but I’ll be back!

Embarking,

~D.

Leave a Reply

